Mega Baking Day! Two cookies with chocolate

It’s Saturday a week before Christmas and I’m taking the chance to relax and bake.  It’s cool outside, the fire is going, and there is Christmas music playing on my laptop.  It’s as close to perfect as it gets at my house.  (You are to ignore the piles of laundry ready to go in and the fact that my floors need to be vacuumed!)

As I’ve said before, I believe in commando baking which does NOT mean naked baking.  Instead it means using up what you’ve got.  With the exception of some baking chocolate squares I didn’t buy anything special for today’s baking extravaganza.  Instead I looked in my cupboards and decided what to make!

Not everything is going to be gluten free or wheat free so I had to start with something that T could eat.  He is wheat intolerant, not gluten intolerant or allergic.  Lately we’ve been experimenting with spelt flour which does have gluten but is ok for some people who are wheat intolerant.  It’s worked well for T and I look forward to playing with it a bit more.  (So far his favorite were these spelt chocolate chip cookies.  I left out the nuts and the molasses.)

These are 2 of the recipes I made, both including chocolate in some form.

 Buckwheat and Spelt Chocolate Chip Cookies These are adapted from The Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies from the blog Buttered Up

1 cup buckwheat flour

1 cup spelt flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 cup sucanat

1/2 cup organic white sugar

1 cup coconut oil, melted or earth balance (I actually used 1/2 and 1/2)

2 tbsp milled flax seed mixed with 4.5 tbsp warm water and let to sit

1.5 tsp vanilla paste (I use paste because I have it.  Extract would be fine here.)

1.5 cups dairy free chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375.

In a large bowl mix the flours, the sugars, the baking soda and salt.  Pour in the melted coconut oil and the vanilla.  Mix well.  Add the chocolate chips and combine.

Either roll in balls now or refrigerate to make it easier.  Put the balls on a baking tray that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake for about 10 minutes.  Let cool on the pans for about 5 minutes and then transfer to racks to cool.

Growing up my favorite cookies were peanut blossoms.  Peanut butter balls with hershey kisses on top. Obviously the kisses aren’t vegan so I figured I was out of luck but when I found this recipe from The Quantum Vegan I knew it had to be tried!  I made these as written except using sucanat for the brown sugar and white wheat flour.  They don’t taste exactly like I remember but they are very good!  (Since T is intolerant to peanuts too I just went all out and used regular flour in these.)

It was a good start to baking.  Tomorrow I’ll fill you in on the fruit cookies!  What are you baking this season??

4 responses to this post.

  1. You sure did get a lot accomplished! They look great 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Stefanie on December 18, 2011 at 2:48 AM

    It all looks good to me. This year I am baking spritz cookies. I’m not sure if I am going to make anything else. It just depends on if I have the time.

    Reply

  3. […] About « Mega Baking Day! Two cookies with chocolate […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

