Mega Baking Day! The fruity cookies

As I said yesterday, I’m taking some time to bake this weekend.  Yesterday’s post talked about 2 of the cookies with chocolate.  Today I’m tackling my fruity cookies.

In the spirit of commando baking (No, I repeat, I do not bake naked!) I went in search of what I had to use up to make my cookies.  That half a bag of goji berries promoted an internet search for ideas.  This recipe on Appetite For China seemed interesting so I modified and veganized and de-glutened and came up with this really good oatmeal cookie!  While they look sort of orange in this photo the goji berries are more red in person which makes this look like a festive cookie!

Goji Berry Oatmeal Cookies (Vegan & Gluten Free)

  • 1 3/4 cups instant oats (use certified gf oats)
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup gluten free flour mix
  • 1 tsp xantham gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup vegan shortening
  • 1/2 cup organic sugar
  • 1/4 cup sucanat
  • 1 tbsp flax meal mixed with 2.5 tbsp warm water and left to sit
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla paste or extract
  • 1 cup goji berries

Preheat oven to 325 and spray pans with nonstick spray.  Rinse the goji berries under water and then set aside.  In a large bowl combine the flours, xantham gum, baking soda and salt.  In another bowl stir together the shortening, sugars, vanilla and flax meal mixture.  Stir well until mixed.  Add to the oatmeal mix and combine well.  Add the goji berries and combine well.  Roll into balls and place on the greased cookie sheets.  Bake for about 11 minutes.  Let cool on the tray (they will be very fragile when they first come out) and then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

I had a half a container of crushed pineapple left over from when I made Livy’s Blondies.  So in the true spirit of commando baking I went in search of something to make with it.  These pineapple cookies are the ones posted by Super Vegan except I used gluten free flour.  What I found was that they needed to bake about 5 minutes longer than listed and they needed to cool completely on the tray.  If you took them off ahead of time they fell right apart.  I’m sure it is due to the flour mix.  These are a delicate cakey cookie that is almost best eaten with a fork.  We felt like they needed something (I’m sure it is because of the flour mix!) so I made a vegan sugar glaze to put on top.  The glaze gets hard (but not too hard) which is nice.  I covered the pans with foil last night before going to bed and the foil adhered to the icing pulling some of it off which left me with only 3 cookies that looked even close enough to nice to photograph!  But the kids are eating them anyway.

I tried to take an artsy picture of the cookies that was only so-so.  But since you don’t read my blog just to see my pictures (as I will *never* earn my living as a food photographer if for no other reason than that my hands shake) I thought I’d leave you with it!

My mega baking day was fun but it actually wore me out which I find just a little sad.  To be honest I also did 5 loads of laundry and ran the dishwasher 4 times.  I had trouble sleeping after all that and so I decided to take it easier today than originally intended.  I’m learning.  I don’t need 12 different kinds of Christmas cookies for it to be a good holiday here.  I’m learning to accept the new reality one step at a time.  Or should I say one cookie at a time??

One response to this post.

  1. these sound so yummy!! Thanks for sharing them!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

