All the baking lately, a wrap-up

I’ve been doing quite a bit of baking lately.  Some of it has been gluten free, some has been wheat free, but all of it has been vegan.

It has been a bit of a challenge to figure out how to pace myself lately.  I’m still dealing with accepting that, particularly in the winter, my stamina is not what it used to be.  So I baked in bursts; a few things every day instead of one mega baking day.  There was not one incredible dessert in the mix.  They were all good.  There were all fine.  And in the end we still had a lovely Christmas.  (What??  It’s not about me getting everything done right and perfectly??)

These almond meal chocolate chip cookies were easy to veganize and bake.  I used flax meal and warm water for the eggs and vegan butter.  I also doubled the recipe to make enough for us.  These are chewy and have good texture and are gluten free and vegan.

I brought a half a bag of pretzel rods home from a school party and set off to find something to do with them.  I tried to make a pretzel crust which looked pretty but didn’t stay together very well.  That said, the chocolate almond custard I put inside was quite good!  I used this recipe but used almond butter instead of peanut butter and almond milk instead of soy.

The cookies that surprised us the most, I think, are these Chocolate Lime Cookies with Cacao Nibs.  I veganized them, using flax meal and water for the egg, Vegan butter, and almond milk instead of cream and white wheat flour.  They came out large and flat with a hint of lime and the unexpected crunch from the cacao nibs.  I think if I were to make them again I’d make a vegan lime frosting and dollop it on top.  By the time I realized that I had not taken a picture of them, they had been sitting in a tin for a few days and were all stuck together.  Really, these are much prettier cookies than this picture shows!

It’s been a lot of fun baking and veganizing and de-glutening cookies this holiday season.  But I’m ready to move on to actually COOKING again.  I’ve got a post about RA in the works, and some thoughts on change and growth as the year comes to a close.  We’re also going on a mini vacation the end of this week and hope to try out some cool places.  What are you thinking about as we get close to the end of 2011?

2 responses to this post.

  1. The almond cookies sound great–I’m always on the lookout for good treats to make my primal-diet roommate AND I just got almond meal for Christmas. It’s a sign! 🙂

    Reply

  2. It’s definitely a sign!! Enjoy them!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

