Looking back and Looking Forward

It wasn’t that long ago that I did my Thankful Post which was, in many ways, a recap of the past year.  But I am excited about the new possibilities for 2012 so I decided to do one last post in 2011 to think about where I’ve come from and where I want to go.

It was just about a year ago, Dec 28th 2010, that I started this blog.  My first post tried to give you a sense of what I wanted to do here.  I needed a place where I could talk about veganism and RA so that the people closest to me didn’t have to hear it over and over and over again (unless they wanted to read my posts)!

I’ve done a lot of baking and cooking and enjoyed my first Vegan MOFO.  We lost our beloved Siberian Husky Nikita and welcomed the sweet mutt Skylar to our home.  We found out that T has a wheat intolerance as well as intolerances to other foods including potatoes which created a whole new set of rules for cooking and baking.  I’ve learned how to order vegan food in restaurants and my children, who are not vegan, have started saying “Yum.  I love tofu.”  (But only if it’s the Trader Joe’s marinated tofu!)  My amazing husband bought me a vitamix, and I’ve learned how to pronounce a whole new vocabulary.  (Amaranth, Quinoa, Kamut, Yucca…..)  My food pictures have improved, though if you came here looking for amazing food photos then you are in the wrong place.  I could point you in the direction of some amazing food photos if you want, though!  I’ve got 25 or so people who follow me here on wordpress, and 300+ who follow me on facebook.  On October 12th 219 people came and read my blog.  It’s awesome that anyone wants to read, much less this many people!

It’s been a great year but I truly believe that they all are.  Because even when things go badly we’re still learning and growing.  I changed jobs this year which was an incredibly difficult decision for me to make, but has ended up teaching me new things about myself and introducing me to fabulous people.

So now I need to look forward.

What do I want to accomplish in 2012?  I set summer goals for myself which didn’t go so well.  They had very specific requirements for whether or not they were accomplished (kind of like IEP goals!) and I found that too restrictive.  I’ve been trying to be gentler with myself and for that reason my goals for the new year will be general.

I am joining Dacia from thirtythreeandcounting for her New You Challenge in order to try and give myself a little accountability.  The first challenge of drinking more water is particularly important to me as I feel like I’ve been living in a state of constant dehydration.  I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t accomplish all the goals but I think her challenges will help me move forward.

And that’s sort of my main goal for 2012: Moving Forward and Being Open to the Possibilities.  I had a dream recently that I think was telling me to step out on faith and take a risk.  The weird thing is that I don’t know what that risk might be.  So I figure that if I’m open to the possibilities that life has for me I’ll probably take that risk.

I want to blog more and I’d like to average a recipe a week.  I want to use my creativity more and blogging is just one of the ways I’d like to do that.  I’ve got some ideas for ways to bring more joy into my life and, as I said at the end of my post yesterday about my mini vacation, throw as much paint on the canvas of life as I can.

I hope that the end of 2011 finds you optimistic.  Life is rarely perfect.  We may not have the life we expected, and adding in an auto-immune disorder is pretty much never what we want.  But I am determined to make the best of the situation however I can.  Thanks for being along for the ride!  I am grateful for you!

4 responses to this post.

  1. I enjoy reading philosophy toward life (love the analogy of throwing paint on the canvas) and your positive attitude toward goals and being open to possibilities. I think goals are important, but we also sometimes put so much pressure on ourselves, that they have the opposite effect. I’m hoping to take up Dacia on her water challenge too. I am so bad about staying hydrated. Good luck and Happy New Year!!

    Reply

    • Thanks so much Caryn! I agree that so many of us put so much pressure on ourselves that it can backfire. Being gentle to ourselves as we try to push forward is, in my opinion, the best way to go. Best of luck to you in 2012!

      Reply

  2. Being open to possibilities and being prepared to “step out” by faith is the most exciting and wonderful thing you can do. I can hardly wait to see what terrific adventures you’ll have this year. 🙂

    Reply

  3. […] 2011 I got the most amazing gift, a Vitamix blender from my husband Mark.  I spoke of that in my end of the year post because it was so exciting.  And it still is.  But I realize now, looking back, that I was […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

