Sometimes you need a good sweet snack…

T, my 12 year old, has started sending me emails with links to recipes that use Chex cereals since many of them are gluten free.  This morning, while I was lying in bed reading the book that needs to be done tomorrow night for book club, he came into my room with a box of Chex cereal.  “Mom?”  he said. “Look at these recipes on the back of the box.  Do you think we could make these?”  As I was reading the recipe he said “You could veganize them, right?  So we could all eat them during the Super Bowl?”  I love my children.  And really, after that, could I refuse?

So, after finishing the book (There will be more about this in another post) I  decided to attempt the recipe titled “Muddy Buddies” on the back of the Corn Chex box.  You could easily use rice chex as a sub.  I do want to state that this is not a healthy recipe.  This is a treat.  But it is a good one to take to something like a Super Bowl party.  It’s gluten free and vegan but no one would know.

Since I made some changes to make them vegan and better for our food intolerances, I have renamed them Muddy Bites.  🙂

The process was quite easy too and would be something you could do with kids.

Muddy Bites

8 cups gluten free Chex cereal

1 cup dairy free semisweet chocolate chips (like ghirardelli semisweet in the gold bag)

1/2 cup soynut butter

1/4 cup earth balance vegan butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

First measure out the cereal.

In a microwave safe bowl mix the chocolate chips, soy nut butter, and earth balance.  Microwave for about 30 seconds on high.  Stir well.  Microwave in additional 10 second increments, stirring after each time, until it is well mixed.

When it is smooth add the vanilla.  Then pour over the cereal and mix well.  This will probably require your hands.

Note my swollen hands but they were useful!

Now take the chocolate mixture and put it into a large ziploc bag.  This will require some help.  I had T hold the bag open while I put handfuls into the bag.  Once all the cereal is in the bag add the powdered sugar.  Close it, and mix it all together well.

This will take some work, and possibly some chasing your children around the kitchen.  Not that I have any experience with that.  Nope.  None.

Put it on a cookie sheet that has been lined with parchment paper so it can dry.

This made a fabulous snack that I may, or may not, have eaten by the handful during the Super Bowl!

I think this may be a go-to recipe for us when we need something easy and fast for a gathering.  Yum.

4 responses to this post.

  1. yummm! We discovered these over Christmas, an easy GF party snack for the GF people we love! I hope you took a lick of your chocolatey fingers!

    Reply

    • It was yummy! And the funny thing was that E tried to lick my fingers!! I’ve actually made this twice in 2 days because I was having people over the night after Superbowl!

      Reply

  2. oh man that looks amazing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

