Three Bean Salad that doesn’t make me *shudder*

Just utter the words “3 bean salad” and I immediately picture a jar of funny beans and veggies that feel waxy in my mouth and have a strange taste.

So it was probably best that when a friend made this salad for a bookclub meeting last month and looked straight at me to say “I thought of you when I saw this recipe” that she didn’t call it 3 bean salad.  Because I think I would have been hesitant to try it and I would have missed out on something fabulous!  It was so good that I had 3 servings and asked her for the recipe.

Imagine my surprise when I looked at the photocopied recipe entitled “Three Bean Salad.”  Now, she had made some changes to the recipe and I made my own but this salad was one of the hits at my bookclub meeting last night.  (For the record I am in multiple book clubs.  What can I say?  I love to read!)  I’m the only vegan and this was the first time this group had met.  I don’t know if the women were hesitant to try my vegan creations but they certainly enjoyed them!

Salad

1 15 oz can garbanzo beans

1 15 oz can kidney beans

1 pound green beans

1 cup finely chopped red onion

1 1/2 cups finely chopped mixed sweet peppers

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsely

Dressing

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

4 tbsp raw sugar

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2/3 cup safflower oil

Directions

Steam the green beans until they are tender crisp.  You don’t want them mushy!  When they are done cut them in halves or thirds, whatever seems to be a reasonable length to eating in 1 or 2 bites.

Meanwhile drain and rinse the canned beans.  (Using fresh cooked beans would be tremendous here!  Just make sure they aren’t cooked to mushy.  This is a no-mush recipe!)

Add the green beans, the canned beans, the onion, peppers, and parsley together and mix well.

Then make the sauce by whisking it all together until well mixed and the sugar is dissolved.  Pour over top of the beans.  Cover and refrigerate at least a couple of hours but preferably over night.

This made fabulous left overs and was an amazing lunch.  While this does scream “summer” to me it was just as wonderful in the winter!

Leave a Reply

