My…Almond and Banana Milkshake/Smoothie/Ice Cream/Yumminess

Something happened on my way to my breakfast smoothie this morning…..

I actually got kind of side tracked.  I mean, I usually do a good healthy smoothie made of lots of fruits and some healthy veggies.  But today I went to the dark side.  Ok.  Not really.  But I avoided green veggies all together and went for something kind of decadent.

I have no idea what to call this, really.  It’s sort of ice cream…  It’s sort a milkshake…. It’s deliciousness in a glass?  Sounds a little hoity-toity.

Regardless, this was my almond and banana breakfast and it was good!  The rice was added, frankly, because I had it to use up.  And I think it added some nice creaminess.

Almond and Banana Milkshake/Smoothie/Ice Cream/Yumminess

1/2 cup cooked white rice

1/2 cup roasted almonds

3 small frozen bananas (if mine were big I would have used 2)

1/2 to 3/4 cup vanilla almond milk

cacao nibs for garnish

Put the rice in the blender and add the nuts.  Break the frozen bananas into chunks and add.  Then add the almond milk.  Blend until smooth.  Garnish with cacao nibs and almonds if desired.

All of this was done rather quickly since I started at 7:55 and I have to be out of the house by 8:15 which meant these photos were rushed.  But it was worth it.  This is not super sweet so I figured I’d have it all to myself but someone begged for some.

As we were sitting there finishing these up before we left for school I casually mentioned “I think next time I’d let it blend longer.”  E replied “I don’t know, mom.  I kind of like the rougher texture that the almonds give it.”  LOL.  That’s my girl!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love reading stories about kids eating healthy food like smoothies! Yay! 🙂 P.S. I have been known to throw in whatever leftovers I have into my smoothies, too. I just always assume the fruit will cover the taste of whatever that is (it usually works, too!).

    Reply

  2. […] Oatmeal Cookies Super Salads And More Macadamias and Almonds in Dark Cacoa The RA Vegan Almond Banana Yumminess (Milkshake) Vegan Era Spagetti and Vegan Meatballs Live Inspired Today Simplest Kale Salad […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

