Gluten Free & Vegan Texas Sheet Cake

I will warn you now.  This is NOT health food.  Generally a vegan diet can be quite healthy.  But oreo’s are vegan.  If I ate them all the time I’d be vegan but not healthy.  Same goes with this cake.  But it sure is yummy and would be a good one when you’re looking to bake for a crowd.  T wants me to try and make this as a Smith Island Cake.

I think I first had Texas Sheet Cake when I lived in Oklahoma.  It’s baked in a big sheet pan and is rather thin and always chocolate plus it has an icing that is put on when it is hot.  I may or may not have ever made one before.  Isn’t it awful that I can’t remember?  Mark always says I can never make the same thing twice so I often forget what I’ve made before!  But I know I ate them at church pot lucks in OKC.

But recently, on pinterest, I saw a gluten free Texas Sheet Cake.  And I started thinking:

  • about how easy it would be to veganize this
  • about how I have yet to find a gf “go to” cake
  • about how this would probably taste really good

so I couldn’t see why not to try it!

A couple of notes before the recipe:  1)  I tried to thank USASillyYaks for the recipe on their site but, for some reason, wordpress isn’t letting me post on other blogs much these days so sorry but THANK YOU!  2)  You can use whatever gluten free flour mix you’d like here.  We can’t use commercially prepared ones because they included potato starch which we can’t eat.  I use the proportions from this post and use whatever I happen to have.  3)  I have found that using the finest milled flax seed I can find makes my egg replacer work the best.  And now let’s bake some cake!

Vegan and Gluten Free Texas Sheet Cake

2 cups gluten free flour mix

2 cups sugar

1 tsp xantham gum

1 tsp baking soda

2 tbsp ground flax meal mixed with 6 tbsp warm water and whisked together well

1/2 cup chocolate almond milk mixed with 1 tsp fresh lemon juice

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the ingredients above together.  It will be lumpy.

Now in a pan on the stove mix

1 cup earth balance with

4 tbsp cocoa powder

and 1 cup water

Bring to a boil.  When it’s boiling stir well and then pour in with the other ingredients.  Mix well.  This will take awhile but also realize it is pretty thin.  Pour it into a large sheet pan that you have greased.  Bake for 30 minutes or until the center is set.

When the cake is about 5 minutes from being done make the frosting.

1/2 cup earth balance

1/4 cup cocoa powder

6 tbsp chocolate almond milk

1 tsp vanilla

4 cups powdered sugar

In a pan bring the earth balance, cocoa powder, and almond milk to a boil.  Stir occasionally so everything mixes well.  When it is boiling take it off the heat and add the vanilla and powdered sugar.  Mix well.

Take the cake out of the oven and let it cool about 5 minutes.  Then pour the warm frosting over top, spreading it well so it covers the whole thing.

I do want to say that you could taste the almond milk in this.  You would be just fine with a more neutral non dairy milk like soy or rice.  While I used chocolate because I had it, I think vanilla would be just fine here.  This makes a LOT of cake.  My plan is to freeze pieces of it so the kids can take one piece in their lunches.  Mom might take a piece too, you know, to keep it even.  lol

And I thought I’d leave you with a picture of who kept sniffing the cake while I was trying to photograph it:

This is the face that is saying “Who me??  No!  I wasn’t sniffing your cake, mom.  Promise!”

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on February 27, 2012 at 8:35 AM

    Nice plating, chica!!

    Reply

  2. Thanks! I was pleased with these pictures 🙂

    Reply

  3. Wow – this looks great! I have yet to make a vegan sheet cake — now I’d love to try. PS- your dog is just too cute. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ann W on April 10, 2012 at 8:10 PM

    I made this for my daughter’s 13th birthday cake and everyone loved it. No one even knew it was vegan and gluten free. Used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and it was still very sweet. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

