Homemade Ramen Noodles

There are, actually, many things I miss from my SAD days. For the most part, though, I feel better and therefore don’t worry about much of that.  But when I read that I could, generally, recreate the taste of Ramen Noodles without all the yucky stuff I got very excited!

This recipe is easy, fast, and completely adaptable.  I used what I had on hand and feel pretty confident that if I made it again it would be very different.  To me the musts are the noodles and the sauce.  The rest can be changed out.  I think you could make this soy free by using coconut aminos and leaving out the tempeh but I might need some guidance to make sure that’s true.

Some other things I think would be good in here include (but are not limited to): peppers, leeks, broccoli, cauliflower… If you try it I’d love to hear what you put in it!

One last note.  I know ramen is really supposed to be a soup but I’ve never liked it that way.  I always cooked it as the soup and then just ate the noodles and I find myself doing that now.  So whichever way you like your ramen, enjoy!

Easy Homemade Ramen 

6.5 oz package of rice sticks (or bean thread noodles if you want)

8 cups veggie stock (or water with veggie bouillon)

1 carrot cut into small slices

8 oz mushrooms, sliced

4 oz tempeh, diced

1/4 & 1/8 cup Braggs Liquid Aminos (or soy sauce)

1 tbsp Italian seasoning (I know…but it works here!)

3 tbsp dried/dehydrated onion

1 tsp garlic powder

Bring the stock to a boil.  Add the noodles and the veggies & tempeh.  Let cook between 4 and 5 minutes or until your noodles are soft.  Turn off the stove.  Add the rest of the ingredients and let everything hang out together for about 5 minutes.  Serve warm as a soup or as noodles and veggies.

Having really cool kid chopsticks like I have is, of course, completely optional!

This post is dedicated to my friend Megan at Maid in Alaska because every time I think of cellophane noodles now, I think of her!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I love any kind of noodle recipes, especially thin rice noodles!! Love the chopsticks too…an awesome meal!

    Reply

  2. Awesome! Love this idea…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Stefanie on March 12, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    Looks like a great meal. I think It looks tastier with little broth and more noodles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

