Thank You Disney’s Vegan Chefs

This is a thank-you post about my trip to Disney.  Now, there are a lot of people I could thank on this trip.  I could thank Mark, who pushed me to see it was a good idea.  (I am the practical one sometimes.)  I could thank the people who safely saw us to our destination and got not only our luggage to the room but the groceries I had ordered through garden grocer.  Because having those groceries in our room really helped.But the people I most want to thank are:

Jesus, Ani, Bob, Angie, Kim, Eugene, and Josh 

You see, those are the amazing chefs who cooked for me.  Who came out of the kitchen and took the time to talk about what they could prepare for me and for T on this trip.  None of them are specifically vegan chefs, but the moment I asked them to cook for me they became MY Vegan Chef!

(For those of you who don’t know not only am I a vegan  for health reasons but T, my 12 year old, is intolerant to wheat and potatoes/sweet potatoes.  There are a few other things but those 2 are the biggies.)

Each place we went the chef would come out and talk to us.  T’s needs & wants would be discussed first because I’m the mom so, you know, I want to make sure the kids things are done first.  Then we’d get to mine.  On property, with only one exception, every situation was fabulous.  The chefs mentioned above were from some of the nicer restaurants on property but also from the food court at our hotel.  A hotel, I might add, that was a “budget” hotel.  Didn’t matter where, the chefs were phenomenal.  Ani told me she appreciated the chance to make me something different.  Angie sent us out a special appetizer tray to try.  And when we suggested something that would be easy to veganized to Eugene he said “I can do better than that.”  And he did.

So a huge thank you to the chefs who made my stay easy and who prepared this amazing food for us.  I will say that I was often too hungry from walking so much to take a picture, so not all things are here and these are in no particular order.

And one more quick thank you to the un-named people who bake at Baby Cakes Disney.  Because of you I got this fabulous photo:

Yep.  He was THAT excited!  His favorite was the pumpkin chocolate chip bread.  Mine were the cookie sandwiches.  No pictures of those.  I was too busy stuffing my face!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Disney is awesome for accommodating folks. So glad you had a great expoerience. In this world today, places that won’t accommodate vegans, special diets and intolerances are not worth our time. Looks like you really enjoyed it.

    Reply

  2. I’m glad it went so well for you. We love Disney!

    Reply

  3. wow.. that is indeed sweet to have your own vegan chefs:) it is great to know about places that accommodate your preferences without making a fuss. Have a great week!

    Reply

  4. Thank you all so much! There was one bad experience in the park but it was so different from what I experienced everywhere else that I felt it wasn’t even worth mentioning!

    Reply

  5. Stopping by from the blog hop from GFVM knows 🙂 We visited Disney last year, just before my son was DX with dairy, soy, peanut, tree and wheat allergies. We are also vegetarian. I am excited to know that when we return we can have safe meals 🙂
    Cindy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

