Funky. Funky. Funky.

Lately I have been in a funk.  Nothing awful.  I’ve gone to work everyday and kissed my children and husband.  I’ve chauffeured and cleaned and written lesson plans.  But everything except loving on my family felt rather, well, blah.

I haven’t posted a blog post in a few weeks and  I haven’t been nearly as active on my facebook page.  To be honest, I haven’t really cooked much.  A few things here and there but very very little.  No motivation.

Apparently I haven’t been the only one.  Dacia at Thirty Four and Fabulous recently posted about a funk and A Gluten Free, Vegan, Mom Who Knows posted on my facebook page that she too has been in a funk.

Maybe we push ourselves so much that sometimes we just hit a wall.  Maybe we get overwhelmed.  Maybe it’s something else.  But it happens to most of us.

But I am happy to report that I feel refreshed and much more “like myself.”

I took some time for me.

A friend and I escaped this weekend to Jim Thorpe PA to a 10 course vegan dinner.  It was amazing to try so many wonderful courses and I will try to fill you in, with pictures, later.

But along with wonderful food what I found was the chance to feel like me again.  This friend and I talked all weekend.  I didn’t worry about what I was supposed to do.  I simply did things.

It was just what I needed.

I feel refreshed and full of life again.  Ready to re-focus on what is important.  And that is taking the best care of my family I can.  To do that I, of course, must take care of me as well.

The end of the school year is almost here and soon I’ll be in summer mode.  My CSA starts delivering in a few weeks and there will be produce to savor.  It’s time to pull out of my funk and jump back into joy.

I hope you are well.  Because to paraphrase my friend Kristen at The Healing Spoon, this webpage is not just about me.  It’s about us.  It’s a journey that I am honored and blessed to be taking with other people.  Without you there would be no point in doing this.  Because sharing together is what makes this worthwhile.

I feel bad that I have been absent lately but I needed to recharge.  And now I feel ready to move forward.

Have you felt funky lately?  How have you handled funks in the past?  Do you think they are inevitable?  Or do you think they are preventable?  What do you do to keep yourself charged up?

Thank you for being a part of my life.  Let’s move forward together!

7 responses to this post.

  1. What an honest post, Jen, one that I too needed to read! None of us are perfect, and I am proud of you for reminding us of that! I have been struggling lately as well, various issues, and sometimes it takes the honesty of others to bring us back to what is important! xoxoxo Kristen

    Reply

    • Thank you, Kristen. It’s hard to admit when things go wrong. I wish I had all the answers and a magic wand to wave, but life doesn’t work like that. It’s a process and it ebbs and flows. Together, you & I, are making a difference in the world my friend. Slowly Slowly Slowly. It might just be our world but we may never know the ripple effect that difference has.

      I’m sorry you too have been struggling lately. But know that you are loved and that we’ll get back where we need to be!!

      Jen

      Reply

  2. I get in a funk quite often myself, hence why my blog entries are sporadic. I just uploaded a few essays I’ve written about veganism/perdue and whatnot and added them to my blog queue. I need a bit of a break from the veganism blog as I focus on my studies, my work, and even my Springpad/Productivity Blog. It’s no lie when some bloggers say a post can eat up ~1hour of your time- Its super easy to fall into a funk.

    Even so, glad you’re back! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I am so glad your weekend in Jim Thorpe did you well! I loved meeting you!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Linda P. on May 24, 2012 at 7:39 AM

    Sounds as if that weekend was truly a good one for you. Thanks for reminding all of us what we need to do for ourselves, too.

    Reply

  5. What a beautiful post! And it’s so “hey I’ve been there kind’!

    I go into a funk every two months or so for a plethora of reasons, varying from missing my parents to being listless for God-even-doesn’t-know what. When I come back from ‘bunny trailing’ me time, I’m all rejuvenated and ready for another round of ‘go get it girl’ time.

    Loved your blog!
    http://thelady8home.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

