Care to join me as I jump around the web a bit?

As I told you in my last post, I hadn’t been doing much cooking lately.  Things had felt rather blah and I was eating things like peanut butter & jelly sandwiches a lot.  Now, I still love a good pb&j, but in the last week I’ve begun cooking again. I haven’t felt up to creating my own recipes yet, instead relying on the recipes of others.  And apparently I haven’t felt up to taking a lot of food photos either, since there aren’t any of those!  I suppose it’s baby-steps to get back into my normal groove!

Over the last week I’ve made these protein monster cookies twice and they’ve become a huge family favorite.  When I made them yesterday morning I made a triple batch which would have given us 5 dozen cookies if it weren’t for the fact that I dropped an entire tray of them on the floor.  And I firmly believe that the 5 second rule does *not* apply to raw cookie dough that has met your kitchen floor!

When I make them I use either almond butter or soy nut butter since T has an intolerance to peanuts and I have always used coconut oil.  I also use a combination of raisins and craisins as my fruit and chopped macadamia nuts as the nuts.  I found that cooking them a few minutes less than the recipe states works best and that you need to leave them on the hot cookie sheet for at least 15 minutes before trying to remove them if you make them sort of large like I do.  If you make them small they get crunchy but if you make bigger they stay soft.  I also learned that the batter is wet and that oiling your hands helps you roll them into balls more easily.

Yesterday we had a small get-together to welcome summer and, beyond T, several of the guests avoid gluten.   These cookies were a hit and the kindergartner at the party kept asking for more!  One of my guest said “Really?  No eggs?  And no regular flour?” while eating one of the delicious cookies!

While I love the monster cookies I have always had a very soft spot in my hear for no bakes and was thrilled to find this recipe for Vegan & GF No-bakes.  I used almond butter here as well.  They stayed a little soft even after hardening and I found that they were perfect if I ate them right out of the freezer.  I really want to try them with chopped up apricots in them but that *may* be because I’m the only one here who likes apricots so it’s more for me!  muhahaha 😉

Another hit at yesterday’s pool get together was this amazing watermelon and strawberry lemonade.  The only downfall to this recipe is that it doesn’t make a lot so not everyone who wanted a taste got one.  (I also found out, later, that E was sneaking in the house for more each time I was engrossed in conversation!  Yes, it was that good!)  A friend and I each poured a little of this in our glass and then topped it with unsweetened mint iced tea.  It was incredibly refreshing and nicely sweet that way.

The other cooking I’ve done I can’t give you links to, since it’s recipe testing for Allyson Kramer’s next book!  I was lucky enough to test for her first book Great Gluten Free Vegan Eats and I’m enjoying the testing this time around just as much.  If you haven’t checked out her site Manifest Vegan yet I highly recommend it.  So far I’ve made coconut orange cookies and a sun dried tomato tapenade.  Yum.

This week has felt good to me.  My funk truly seems to have lifted and I feel like I am gradually getting back to my old self.  I posted a few minor pictures to my facebook page and feel like I will soon be completely back to myself, lots of food pictures in all.

There are only 9 more school days here though they are packed full to the brim with things I need to do.  Soon things will be crazy in a different way and I look forward to exploring that with you too!

If you’re ever interested in more thoughts about other’s recipes I like, check out this board on pinterest.  It’s a board devoted to other people’s recipes I have tried and liked.  (The recipes in the other boards are ones I want to try.  These are the ones that have already been tried that I enjoyed.  If I didn’t enjoy it then the pin usually just disappears.)

Leave a Reply

