Summer Challenge : The Perfect Veggie Burger


Last year around now I set some pretty lofty summer goals for myself.  I quickly realized that they were too restrictive and mostly set out to enjoy myself for the rest of the summer.  This year I’m not setting specific goals, but I do have a challenge for myself.

I need to find the perfect veggie burger.

I love burgers.  Love them.  Actually I love everything about burgers.  Last week, when we had a few people over to swim I made a “burger” with a hamburger bun and all the trimmings but no “main.”  I enjoyed it almost as much as I enjoy a regular burger.  Veggie, of course.  I often order them when we’re out.

I have often bought frozen veggie burgers and enjoyed them just fine.  Sunshine are probably my favorite but they are expensive and hard to come by around here.  Most of the time I like them on buns but sometimes on top of a salad is wonderful.

I’ve also tried to make my own.  More than these pictures can attest to, really.

And while they’ve been fine they haven’t been anything to write home about.  Oh sure, they tasted good.  But I have yet to make one that, as soon as I take a bite, I know I will make over and over again.

Often the texture is off.  Not quite what I wanted.  Now, I realize I’m not going to get a homemade burger to taste like a purchased veggie burger, but I’d like one that doesn’t crumble at the slightest provocation.  I’d like one that is sturdy and stands up to cooking plus has a good texture when I bite into it.  Oh, and it needs to be vegan (of course!), gluten free, and something the rest of my family will eat.

Too tall an order?

I think not!

Maybe I was inspired by the t-shirt I wore today.  In case you can’t read it, it says “I teach, what is your super power?”  And after surviving a hot day and serving food to about 400 kids at a picnic to promote positive behavior I truly have super powers!  So why not turn those powers to creating some healthy and tasty fare once my teaching super powers take a summer break in just 5 (!) school days!

But I need your help!  What are your favorite veggie burger recipes?  I’ll try to attempt all the ones you recommend, and try some others I find.  I am determined to find maybe not the “perfect” veggie burger but my “go-to” veggie burger recipe this summer!

10 responses to this post.

  1. You know…you gave me the idea for today’s lunch……let me try. Will post it if successful :))

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mary on June 2, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    Love the T shirt. What wonderful person found that for you?!

    Reply

  3. Jen, check this one out, it has become our favorite because it is also gluten free! http://www.holycowvegan.net/2011/03/bean-and-oats-burgers.html

    Reply

  4. Posted by m on June 4, 2012 at 4:39 AM

    I do home cooked beans (any kind, black, white, etc.), mash them up, add some brown rice or gluten free oats if you wish, maybe some shredded carrot and some broccoli pieces, roll in bread crumbs in desired (you can use gluten free), maybe a tiny bit of olive, oil, salt, pepper, spices. Cook. It’s good, especially black bean ones with some roasted red pepper pieces in it and some spices, served with spicy sweet potato fries.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Linda P. on June 6, 2012 at 6:54 AM

    I can keep you busy all summer testing burgers for your favorite! Here’s a link to a whole 172-page magazine full of recipes for vegan burgers, shakes and fries that I found some time ago: http://www.veganculinaryexperience.com/VCEMarch11.pdf/ It also includes lots of information about the pros and cons of various types of vegan burgers, i.e. bean based versus seiten type, etc.

    Reply

  6. Posted by missgrill on July 12, 2012 at 12:10 AM

    i am always searching for that perfect veggie burger recipe! did you find one yet?
    one on PickyVeggieMoms blog looks great – mushroom black bean burger. going to sub in chickpeas i think 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

