My boring vegan life?

Ok.  I don’t really think my life is boring.  I mean, any life that has this happening in it can’t be boring, right?

Yes, the dog jumped onto the lime to be with the kids.  Of course, the dog can’t get out of the pool so when she does this it necessitates some assistance at getting her back to land.  So nope, it’s not boring.

Last week I spent the week at the Arts in Motion Academy at Salisbury University learning about ways to integrate the arts into my teaching.  My favorite part was beat-boxing and this article showcases some of what we did.  (My group is not up there, but we did something similar.)  I also did a play to demonstrate how early man discovered fire could do things wherein I played the very difficult role of a bird shot down into the fire!  I learned to paint on screens and how to dance mutiplication patterns.

This screen painting was supposed to be folk art of fruit but it really turned out to look like a clown face!  I might not be the most gifted visual artist, but life is not boring!

We went out to lunch 4 of the 5 days and I got some wonderful Vegan food including this Vietnamese food and Mediterranean food.

And while I was taking this class my niece and nephew were staying with us and attending nature camp with my kids.  They swam in the mucky disgusting pond everyday and came home smelling, um, interesting.  I got very talented at spraying out their shoes with the hose!  Not boring.

And today, the first weekday after my class, I got caught in a torrential downpour, had 5 kids running around my house, and cleaned out my fridge.  How could you think refrigerator cleaning is boring??

But the thing is, I haven’t done a ton of cooking so I haven’t been able to post any recipes.  I do have two posts in the works.  One is about being a “bad vegan” and the foods I don’t like.  The other is a review of the fantastic new cookbook “Great Gluten Free Vegan Eats” by Allyson Kramer.  But, I don’t always post what I’m thinking about because I don’t want to bore you.  So, what would you like to hear about?

Are you interested in how I navigate being the only vegan in my circle of friends?  How I deal with the pain of RA?  How I relax?  How I deal with teaching all day and raising my kids while having RA?  Restaurant reviews?  Something else?  Or are you mostly looking for recipes?

Seriously.  Are there any specific topics you’d like me to cover?  My brain tends to jump around pretty intensely and it will probably still do that, but I’d like a little help focusing on what you’d like to read about.  Because I know you’re not here to see my beautiful screen painting!  LOL

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Eastern Shore Vegan on June 25, 2012 at 5:23 PM

    More local restaurants and such! Where did you get those falafel ball things?! :3 In all seriousness, tho, your blog is called RA Vegan, meaning you have two main topics. RA and Veganism. All of those things would make excellent topics to cover.

    PS we need to get together again sometime soon! 🙂

    Reply

    • Aren’t those falafel balls beautiful? From the Mediterranean Grill across from SU. I’d never been there but it was yumm-o! And yes, we should!!

      Reply

      • Posted by Eastern Shore Vegan on June 25, 2012 at 5:55 PM

        They are gorgeous! And I hear the Namaste where that hotel is has amazing (and super cheap vegan foods) One thing we could totes do this summer, perhaps go out to eat occasionally(give you a break from the kids :P) and check out new restaurants for vegan foods.

        I’m actually closing my Eastern Shore Vegan blog, namely because it’s a lot to work on a book and two blogs, college classes, full time job, etc. Something had to go, and I figured the seldom updated blog would have to be it.(regardless springpad is amazing, and I plan to upload places to it so vegans can still find grub).

        And we still need to get your son and my little sister together to play sometime. She needs kids closer to her own age, and no risk of cross contamination(well I’ll have to make sure she doesn’t eat potatoes beforehand but otherwise, all clear) 🙂

Leave a Reply

