Chickpea Salad for a Hot Day

In the summertime my life revolves around water and being outside.

My goal, every summer, is to make lots of fresh cold food that can be eaten on the go.  But I still often find myself staring in my pantry wondering what I should make for potlucks and pool time and beach trips.

I was looking through the photos on my facebook page  when I saw this photo from last summer:

It’s a salad my friend C made and she basically gave proportions for how to make it with the caveat to just use what you have.  So I did.

The most recent salad was what I brought to 4th of July at my mom’s and it was quite tasty.  Use this as a guide, though, and use what you have on hand and what is fresh.  I’d love to hear what you come up with (and to see pictures!)

2012 4th of July Bean Salad

2 cans (15 oz) garbanzo beans

1/4 sweet onion, chopped

1 orange pepper, chopped

1/2 pint cherry tomatoes, chopped

1/2 cucumber, chopped

5 or so marinated artichoke hearts, chopped

1/2 block daiya jack style cheese, chopped

1/4 cup (or more) apple cider vinegar

1/8 cup (or more) olive oil

1 tbsp garlic powder with spices

salt and pepper to taste

Drain and rinse the beans and put them in a bowl.  Add the other ingredients and mix.  The daiya will break down a little in the marinade so keep it separate if you want to retain the consistency.  I liked the flavor that it added even when it was a tad broken down.

It was a great addition to my 4th of July plate!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I love, love, love a chickpea salad! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rebekah Rae on July 26, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    Chickpeas are one of my favorite foods and this recipe looks amazing! I’ll definitely be trying it soon …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

