Multiple Uses For the Same Recipe : Watermelon Strawberry Lemonade Pops

It’s hot here today.  So hot that we might beat previous heat records on the Delmarva Peninsula.  (The previous high temp in Salisbury is 106.  I am *not* looking forward to possibly breaking that!)  The kids have been in the pool but I’m wearing a heart-rate monitor just to make sure everything is working as it should and I can’t get it wet.  (Well, I can take it off once but we’re going to the beach tomorrow and that’s a bigger deal to me.)  So I’ve been sitting “in the shade” watching them swim.

My view from under the canopy is pretty but when it feels like 105 it’s hot even under the canopy!  So what’s a vegan girl to do?  (Other than drink LOTS of water?)  Have a pop of course!

A few months ago I pinned this recipe for Watermelon and Strawberry Lemonade from Frosted Bake Shop.   I’ve now made it twice and we really enjoy it for a summer party. We actually like it even better half and half with iced tea!  Well, the last time I made it for a family event there was quite a bit leftover and it thickened up as it sat in the fridge for a day.

So I decided to turn this leftover drink into some homemade frozen pops and man are they good!

I need to admit that I am one of those people who really enjoyed things like the ice pops that are straight sugar.  I know they’re not healthy or good for you but they did taste good.  And my previous tries at homemade ice pops were never *quite* sweet enough for me.  These are pretty darn sweet.  Not sugar water sweet, but sweet enough that even people who are used to commercially prepared ice pops won’t be left wondering why they are not sweet.  If I was making the lemonade specifically for pops I would omit some of the water required and leave it thick.

I hope you are staying cool if you are experiencing a heat wave like we are!  I’m going to go have another ice pop!

One response to this post.

  1. […] About « Multiple Uses For the Same Recipe : Watermelon Strawberry Lemonade Pops […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

