Raw Veggies Corn Salad

This is the first year we’ve gone with a CSA.  We’ve chosen Taylor’s Fresh Organics and get to pick up a nice bag every week.  It’s something I’ve always wanted to do so I was very excited to start this year, and it’s been wonderful.  It’s definitely helped me to “taste summer” by having the freshest fruits and vegetables imaginable.

This week’s bag, among other things, included both corn and cantaloupe.  Some corn got boiled as usual, since T begged and begged for some to be prepped this way.  I will admit that I ate it with absolutely no adornment because it was that good.  And we all (ok, I) squealed when eating the cantaloupe because it tasted fresher than any I’ve ever tried.  And let me tell you, the Eastern Shore is the home of the ‘lope so I’ve had me some ‘lope.  But I love it plain and unadorned.  For me ‘lope doesn’t get any better than that.

But with half the corn I felt compelled to make something a little special since this goodness only comes around once a year.

Last summer I read some things about eating raw corn, but knew that I would only try it with fresh organic corn.  So now was my chance.

Raw Veggies Corn Salad

4 or so ears raw organic corn

1 large organic tomato

1 raw organic zuchinni

1/4 cup sweet onion

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 tbsp lime juice

½ tbsp. agave syrup

Salt & pepper

Husk the corn and clean well to remove the silk.  Scrape the corn off the cob into a bowl with a knife.

Cut the zucchini, the tomato, and the onion into a small dice and toss with the corn.

Mix the dressing together and pour over, using salt and pepper to taste.

Let sit for several hours for flavors to meld.

This is very fresh tasting, with a hint of sweetness.  There is a definite taste of the lime but I really enjoyed that.  This is one of those recipes that’s only made at one time of the year so, if you have some very fresh organic corn, it’s worth trying.  I figure I’ll be able to make it a few more times this summer and then the taste will be a memory until next summer.  It’s kind of fun that way, to be honest!

I’m sharing this recipe with Fit and Fabulous Fridays, Walking on Sunshine, and Foodie Friends Friday Linky Party!  And I was so excited to find out that there is a blog party specifically about what is in your CSA box!  So I’m going to link this to What’s In the Box!

8 responses to this post.

  1. looks good. I am looking for more and more ways to use my CSA raw.

    Reply

  2. This looks like a great summer recipe! Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday!

    Reply

  3. This looks really good! Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday! Please come back on Sunday to VOTE!

    Reply

  4. This looks so delicious!! Thank you for sharing at Fit and Fabulous Fridays! 🙂

    Reply

  5. There is nothing more delicious than sweet summer corn 🙂

    I host a weekly CSA Link party and would love for you to be a part of it. http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/19/whats-in-the-box-35/. Come and check it out and add your link.

    Looking forward to having you there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

