Mixed Pepper and Tomato Soup

I’m trying hard to not let produce go bad.  It’s a tough line for me.  If I don’t buy it I don’t eat it, obviously.  But if I buy it and don’t eat it I feel guilty.

So I’ve decided that my new strategy will be as follows:  On the weekends I go through the produce and use up anything that needs to be used.  Then I take stock and buy what I think I’ll need for the week.  I wish I could tell you this was working beautifully but the truth is that this is the first weekend I’ve tried!  So far it has produced some beautiful blueberry muffins courtesy of this wonderful recipe from The Happy Go Lucky Vegan.  For the larger amount of flour I used spelt, and for the smaller amount kamut.  These are not super sweet with the brown rice syrup but have a lovely lightly sweet taste.  My kids felt there should be less blueberries but really, they don’t always know of what they speak.

Then I set my sites on the 4 large peppers on my counter.  I looked up a variety of recipes and played around until I came up with one we loved.  I actually had trouble taking pictures of this soup because I kept stealing bites.  In fact I ate the whole bowl while sitting there taking pictures.  Yes, it was that good.

Mixed Pepper and Tomato Soup

2-3 tbsp olive oil, divided

1/2 sweet onion

4 colored peppers

26 oz chopped tomatoes in juice

2 cups veggie stock

3 tbsp dijon mustard with herbes de provence (or 3 tbsp dijon plus 1 tbsp herbes de provence)

1-2 tbsp salt

Put 1 tbsp olive oil in a soup pot turned to medium heat.  Chop the onion and add it to the oil, stirring well.  Put the top on the pot and let them cook for about 5 minutes.  While the onions are cooking slice the 4 peppers.  Take the top off the onions and stir well.  Add the peppers and stir well, adding one more tbsp of oil.  Let them cook until soft, about 15 minutes.  At this point I took them off the heat and let them sit for about an hour.  I don’t think it’s critical but I do think it melded their flavors.

Turn heat to medium and decide if you need the last tbsp of oil.  Mix everything up well and then add the tomatoes in juice and the 2 cups of stock.  Mix well.  Let it simmer for 30 minutes.  Using either an immersion blender or a regular blender in small batches blend the soup until smooth.  Add the salt and the dijon mustard, stirring well.

I made pizza for the kids because I had promised I would and forgot.  E ate one piece and then said “I want a bowl of that soup!”  It’s amazing how creamy this soup is.  In fact the leftovers are calling to me and I’m looking forward to eating them tomorrow!

This is being entered in Ricki Heller’s Wellness Weekend.  I love real vegan food!

And for the first time I’m joining Allergy Friendly Friday!  This recipe is gluten free, vegan, and nut free.  (And since its vegan it is dairy free as well!)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Stefanie on January 15, 2012 at 6:00 PM

    That soup looks good. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment