A Vegan & Gluten Free Winner!

We are still very new to trying to make things both Vegan AND Gluten Free.  I was just starting to get the hang of vegan baking when we added the gluten free thing and let me tell you, it hasn’t been easy.  We are getting there, but not all the things I make are edible.  And if it is edible, we don’t always want to eat it.  (And the gluten free ingredients are expensive so I always feel bad when I throw something out!)

I’ve been very happy to find some sites with recipes that are both gluten free and vegan to explore.  But with the pain and exhaustion of RA I don’t always have the energy to bake the things I have researched.  Yesterday, for Mark’s birthday, I tried Manifest Vegan’s Cinnamon Donut Cake.  http://www.manifestvegan.com/2010/09/cinnamon-donut-cake/

Wow.  Let me say it again.  Wow.  Because T is allergic to potatoes I didn’t use the potato starch.  Instead I used a little more of each of the other flours, adding up to the amount of potato starch.  I used coconut milk because it is what I had.  For the icing I hadn’t melted the coconut oil enough and it was a little lumpy.  I microwaved the glaze so it wasn’t as lumpy and poured it over the top.  This was a great birthday cake as it was wonderful with ice cream.  I thought it was even better this morning after sitting over night.

My pictures are not great, so check out Allyson’s pictures for some truly stellar ones of this cake.  But it was definitely worth making!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. I really like the idea of using coconut milk in the cake! Yum! I bet you have to get creative with allergies and varying preferences… it seems like you’re a pro!

    Reply

  2. Thanks Jesse. I’m not feeling like a pro, but I’m trying to learn!

    Reply

Leave a comment