Cabbage and Cranberry Soup

Even though I know I couldn’t keep up daily posting throughout the year if I intend to hang on to my teaching job, I am enjoying it for this month.  It’s making me think even more about my food, and giving me lots of amazing blog posts to read!  There have been weekly MOFO Iron Chef Challenges using different ingredients.  I tried, last weekend, to make a recipe with chickpeas for the challenge but my brownies didn’t quite turn out blog worthy.  (Though the sundae I made with them was really good!)  I didn’t attempt this week’s challenge with the combo of bananas and coffee because I wasn’t feeling inspired.

What I have been feeling inspired about is the SOS October Challenge.

 This month’s challenge ingredient is one of my  favorites:  Cranberries.  My original plan was to  recreate an old family favorite: an apple and  cranberry crumble with an oatmeal topping in a  slightly healthier way.  But in the end I went in a  completely different direction with a savory soup  that I just adore!  Plus this one is so easy!

Cabbage and Cranberry Soup

1 tbsp olive oil (or you could use water to sautee the veggies)

1/2 large sweet onion, chopped

2 large carrots peeled and chopped

5 cups veggie broth

2 cups shredded cabbage

1 cup cooked kidney beans

1 cup fresh cranberries

In a large saucepan heat the oil.  Add the onions and carrots and saute until starting to soften.  (Or you could saute in water.)  Add the veggie broth/stock and mix well.  Let simmer for a few minutes.  Add the shredded cabbage and the beans and stir well.  Let it simmer for about 10 minutes or until the cabbage is to the consistency you prefer.  Add the cranberries and stir well.  Let simmer between 5-10 minutes and then serve.

I learned something about myself today too.  With the RA my hands aren’t that strong; This is something I’ve known for awhile.  But I think it’s time to admit that any really precise work is not going to be done well with my hands.  I tried desperately to take a picture of a ladle of soup, holding the ladle in one hand and the camera in the other.  There was no way I could get a picture that didn’t shake.  Oh well.  You won’t be seeing any pictures of beautifully decorated cakes either.  That work is just too precise.  But I will keep trying to make healthy tasty food to feed my family.  And if I happen upon a good picture then it’s a win!  I hope you are enjoying this fall weather!  It’s beautiful here.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, wow, wow, that is such an innovative sounding soup!! I can just imagine the splash of cranberry tartness here and there in the soup. . . what a terrific addition! Thanks so much for submitting to the SOS Challenge this month! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ooh what a lovely sounding soup! Nothing beats soup as the weather gets colder 🙂 I like mine thick and full of veggies 🙂

    Reply

  3. How creative to combine cabbage and cranberries – this one goes on my list of recipes to try. Thanks for sharing at D,D, & D!

    Reply

  4. Yum! A double win in my book. I love cabbage and I love cranberries. Can’t wait to give this one a try 🙂

    Reply

  5. What an unusual combination. This looks like a wonderful soup. 🙂
    It is definitely important to realize your limitations and figure out how to maximize what you have, too. My mom has weaker forearms, so she’s ditched all her heavy pots in favour of lighter ones. Besides, who needs fancy cakes with little flower petals? Not me! 🙂

    Reply

  6. […] Cabbage and Cranberry Soup from the RA Vegan. How’s that for an innovative use of savory cranberries? […]

    Reply

  7. wow this soup sounds amazing. just remember all those great soup/ladle shots have a team behind them (i used to work for a food photographer). your stuff looks great!

    Reply

Leave a comment